Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Information on the tables, fields, behavior and such?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Information on the tables, fields, behavior and such?

I am new to 3dcart, and was asked to build a little app to pull order records from a store and deal with them in certain ways. The only information I've really been given about how to do this was a link to the "3dcart REST API" page, here:

https://apirest.3dcart.com/

Following the links from that page have shown me some stuff about what the valid SOAP requests are and what their responses will be. However, it all seems to assume that the reader understands what the layout of the underlying DB is, what the meanings of the fields are, how the system operates, et cetera.

For example, I see in that website how I can build a syntactically correct request for a certain order. And I see a description of what the response will look like. But... what does it mean? I don't really see that. For example, consider the "OrderStatusID" field that is returned to me: It is described as "database reference = orders.order_status", "type" = "integer", and "additional information" = "none". So, OK, I guess it will somehow tell me what the order status is. But how does it tell me that? What integer value has what meaning?

And (for lack of a better word) what are the MEANINGS of those meanings? For example, it's one thing to know that "integer value 37 means New", but what does "New" mean? This sort of thing seems like something I'd have to understand in order to deal with the appropriate orders in an appropriate manner.