Database Manipulation

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Database Manipulation

Anyone out there directly manipulating their site's database with Access? I have been afraid to do it because I am far from an Access expert, but it seems like our backend upkeep could be a lot easier, faster, and robust if we could work with the database instead of through the upload features. The upload features are great because they are an easy way to keep things updated with spreadsheets, but at some point, we should take it to the next level.

One of my suppliers just released their entire database, which includes tons of information (descriptions, weights, keywords, etc). I can probably extract the necesssary info to excel and upload it, but it would be way cool to directly link their DB to mine... I also think direct DB manipulation would make it a lot easier to do bulk additions and removals...

The biggest problem I see is haveing to download the file, change it, and re-up it. The DB files for our sites aren't small, so doing that several times a day can be time consuming and eat up a lot of bandwidth (do the bandwidth limits apply only to the store, or all of the backend stuff to?)

Any thoughts?
    www.totaloutdoorsman.com - Your Total Choice for the Outdoors

I do update large quantities in Access unless there are too many options on the items. If it is just basic, sku, price, description, images etc... it is ok... however, I did find a different method that works for me.

I have experimented with it because I have so many products that change all the time. Sometimes I have to copy and paste it out of Access put it into excell then paste it back because ACCESS doesn't let you autofill cells like excell. I don't recommend ACCESS changes if your going to be using options with the products. But if you want a faster way then using the 3dcart menu system. Here is what I do.