Bandwidth Question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bandwidth Question

My bandwidth usage is really high. I'm trying to figure out what is causing it and had a couple of questions.

First - my bandwidth SHOULD be lower than normal. I have turned of my Google PPC advertising - which used to bring me TONS of traffic.

Also - my high bandwidth traffic is not supported by sales. I'm having days with no sales and days with only 3 or 4 abandoned carts so this is not 'usual'.

Yes - I know it could be my product - but I've been selling online for over 6 years and the traffic to my sight just doesn't match up with sales totals.

So.... Looking at the stats - the main culprit seems to be

/thumbnail.asp (by far)
    and
    /admin/thumbnail.asp

Can anyone tell me what these do and do you have any idea what I can do to lower the bandwidth usage with these pages?

The majority of my thumbnail images are around 6 - 7 KB - so they are not large.

I'm wondering about the new NEXT/PREV buttons on the product listing - they show pictures of the next/prev product as well as the words. Do you think removing the pictures and only have the words would help much? I'm wondering if they are taking the main larger imaging and 'shrinking' it???

Ideas?

I've also taken images that display on every page, and my logo and moved those to another server- I did that a few days ago and that should have helped quite a bit - but the bandwidth just climbs!

I'm probably going to have to upgrade - but things just don't seem in line.

Oh - I also checked IP addresses and found one in Amsterdam last week that was using a TON of bandwidth. I blocked that one. Thought that would help - but things haven't slowed down at all.

Any suggestions are much appreciated.
    C Ekman
    Owner/Designer: Cobweb Corner
    http://www.cobwebcorner.com