product options - how to make disappear

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• product options - how to make disappear

I'm still a 3DCart newbie, trying to determine whether I want to set up my products as individual products or use options where I can. Many of my items come in colors, could be set up as options, or I can make each color a unique product in 3DCart. I see pros and cons to both methods, and would like feedback from others on this question.

Items that are set up as unique products "disappear" from the screen when out of stock, so I don't have to do screen updates to keep up with inventory level changes. Really LOVE that!!

However, it appears that options still appear in the options dropdown list for the "master" product even if that particular option has stock level of zero. I would like the options to "disappear" from the dropdown list when out of stock. Does anyone know how to do this?

Because my options will be colors, not sizes, I also want to display a larger color image for every option on the product screen, not just tiny thumbnails on the dropdown list. I'm assuming this means I have to manually add the images I want to display, and then manually remove them when colors go out of stock. Does anyone have a better way of handling this?

This manual update process and the problem of out-of-stock options still appearing in the dropdown list are probably big enough problems to prevent me from using options at all. Any words of wisdom from folks using options?

Thanks - I'm learning so much by reading all the posts and suggestions from other users!

Sue

Anyone? Has anyone figured out how to get individual options to not display when out of stock, similar to how a product can be set to not display when out of stock?

Thanks!

Comment

This is not an option right now.
      If you turn on the inventory option it will prevent customers from buying an option not in stock, but it will still display.