Query Database

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Query Database

Does anyone know how to query the 3dcart database for product availability information? Basically, I know the product code, but I want to find out whether it is in stock, or not. (And then do something in the HTML code, depending on whether the product is in stock, or not.) In essence, I need to know how to send the query and then respond to the result. I'm a Delphi programmer, so in Delphi it's pretty simple:

If ProductInStock then
    Do Something
    Else
    Do Something Else.

Can this be done?

Here's a more realistic example:

If ProductInStock then
    HTML text colored GREEN
    Else
    HTML text colored RED
    www.stsi.com
    Network Infrastructure and Fiber Optics (AMP/Tyco, APC, Belden, Corning, Hubbell, Leviton, Ortronics, Panduit), Audio, Computer, and Video Cables, and much more!

Depending on what you are trying to do exactly, there is very simple solutions ie. You can set the "IN STOCK" variable on the language to be "<font color=green>IN STOCK</font>" so it will display green for you on the product page.

You could also add a hidden field inside the form on the listing template

HTML Code:
    <input type=hidden value="[stock]" name=mystock>
    and now you have a hidden text field with the stock, you could do some javascript to check the value and make changes to the page

HTML Code:
    if (document.myform.mystock.value>0)
    {

}
    Last, you could use the API, but this is going to require that you learn webservices. Its not a bad idea to learn if you are a programmer, because everyone is using web services now, but, yeah its going to be a big learning curve.

Link to the api:

https://support.3dcart.com/index.php...emid=127&nav=0
    ----------------------------
    Gonzalo Gil
    3dCart Support
    800-828-6650 x111

Comment