Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Using custom file name creating duplicate content?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Using custom file name creating duplicate content?

I've been setting up my store and very impressed with 3dcart I must say! One potential problem I notice though is in using the custom file function where you can create a custom file name for the URL. When I use a custom file for a category, I noticed that the category can be reached via the new filename as well as the old! I'm no SEO expert, but I'm pretty sure if the same page exists in two url places, that's a no-no!

Does anyone have any knowledge/experience on this subject? I would hate to use this feature if it causes duplicate content.

Actually, its perfectly fine. This snippet is from Google's page on duplicate content, located here: http://www.google.com/support/webmas...n&answer=66359

"Examples of non-malicious duplicate content could include:

* Discussion forums that can generate both regular and stripped-down pages targeted at mobile devices
    * Store items shown or linked via multiple distinct URLs
    * Printer-only versions of web pages"

Comment

Originally posted by 3dCartRobb View Post
      Actually, its perfectly fine. This snippet is from Google's page on duplicate content, located here: http://www.google.com/support/webmas...n&answer=66359

"Examples of non-malicious duplicate content could include:

* Discussion forums that can generate both regular and stripped-down pages targeted at mobile devices
      * Store items shown or linked via multiple distinct URLs
      * Printer-only versions of web pages"