Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Can anyone help me understand this code...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Can anyone help me understand this code...

Hi, I am working on customizing the category_0.html page and it is taking me a long time because I am not really a programmer. I can get around and do some things and almost have the page perfect to where I want it, but I would love to understand the code a little better, so any help would be greatly appreciated!

I have learned that the category_0.html controls two areas of the website but are all on the same page of code. The main category landing page (page that list's the main category and all of it's sub categories) (https://doggie-diva.3dcartstores.com...es_c_296.html), and the sub category landing page (page that lists all the sub categories indivually) (https://doggie-diva.3dcartstores.com...ps_c_308.html).

Here is my question... when you look at the code listed below, how does the code know to call the breadcruming up, both when a user clicks on a main category and also a sub category?

It seems that the top half of the code up to <!--END: SUB_CATEGORIES-->, controls the main category landing page and any code under the <!--END: SUB_CATEGORIES-->, controls the sub category landing page. But on the top of the code, where it says ' <!--START: BODY_HEADER-->
    <table width="95%" border="0" cellpadding="2" cellspacing="0">
    <tr>
    <td height="17" valign="top" class="breadcrumb"> [CATEGORY_FULLLINE]</td>
    </tr>
    </table>
    <!--END: BODY_HEADER-->, that controls the breadcrumbing and how does that piece of code know to show up on both?

I just can't seem to move things around the page and customize pages the way I want because I don't understand how 3dcart's html works, if anyone can clarify any of it for me, it would be so helpful. Thanks!