Duplicate Meta Tags in Google

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Duplicate Meta Tags in Google

I am a novice but, trying hard every day to learn.

I read the webmaster guidelines article in Google webmaster tools a couple weeks ago and noticed they suggested creting URLS which are keyword rich. I decide to update my urls using the custom url option field. After completing the task I deleted my old sitemap, regenerated it, and resubmit. A couple days later Google updated the "HTML suggestions" in webmaster tools. Now it is saying I have duplicate Meta descriptions and Duplicate Meta Titles on a number of pages.

So I deleted all of the Custom URLS re wrote all of my meta descriptions and titles, deleted and resubmit my site map. The "HTML suggestions" were updated this morning and still it is showing duplicates.

I have submit a ticket but, this problem has been on going for 2 weeks now. I have exhausted what I know how to do. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

The reason I posted in Optomizing for serch engines is because these duplicates have definitely hurt my rankings.

I will put an example of one of the duplicates. I hope it's ok, Im not trying to spam.

http://www.morpoppy.com/Mahogany-Pod...rder_p_30.html

http://www.morpoppy.com/Mahogany-Pod...rder_p_45.html

Thanks!

By default you already have keyword rich urls (3dcart uses the product name as URL) but yeah you can go further with custom file names. This however has nothing to do with meta tags and titles thats something else....

For each product you can have a custom title and meta tags there is a tab on the product editor to edit the title and meta tags ( I suggest you use the meta tag wizard). Note that by default the software gives a title to the page but from the link you posted it appears you have 2 items named the same so that's probably why they have the same title, you can go to one of them and change it to something else...
    ----------------------------
    Gonzalo Gil